When God Isn’t Enough

That seems wrong, doesn’t it? How dare I say such a thing! God is the omnipotent, omnipresent, all-knowing, all-good Lord of all. He keeps the universe twirling, the waves roaring, and the atoms together, and I think He can’t deal with my problems? How presumptuous am I to think that He can’t fulfil my wants and needs!

And yet, we live this way.

We think this way.

We have this idea that God is busy holding Pluto in orbit, He doesn’t really care about what is going on in my life. He gave me a brain, and I’m supposed to use it to do the best I can. And so we go to other things to satisfy us.

We chase after careers, thinking we will find security. We chase after popularity, thinking we will find renown and immortality. We chase after relationships, thinking we will find love. We chase after pleasure, thinking we will find fulfilment.

And chasing after these things isn’t just limited to just those taking these things to the extreme. We all do it. Every girl slightly basing her self-worth in how many likes her photo gets, every boy constantly in video-games because he feels like he accomplishes something, every woman wondering if something is wrong with her because she’s not in a relationship, every man believing he has an impenetrable castle because of his 401k and position; all of us are tempted to satisfy our thirsts at the wells of this world. I know I am. We all chase after so many things, desperately wanting to be known, to be cared for, to be loved, to have a purpose.

But those wells can’t quench our thirst.

Impenetrable walls fall down.

Internet friends disappear.

Jobs are lost, boyfriends break-up, and your house will never be as clean as the Jones’s.

We look for security, and find chaos; we look for renown, and find obscurity; love, and find apathy and abandonment; fulfilment, and find empty brokenness. We’re left with our dreams and hopes dashed into a million pieces about us, bodies raw and bleeding from our fall, laying in the middle of a dark, loud, harsh world, that runs hurtling past us without noticing or caring.

All those things we thought would satisfy us, weren’t enough.

But maybe, just maybe, we’ve been turning to the wrong well. God isn’t distant or busy. He knows the number of hairs on your heads (Matt 10:30), He knows you intimately, exactly what you are doing, what you are thinking, and what you are going to say before you say it (Ps 139:1-4). So why do we think this all-powerful, all-knowing Person doesn’t care for us?

In fact, He already gave us ultimate proof that He did. Hereby perceive we the love of God, because He laid down His life for us. (1 John 3:16)

Jesus loves you and cares about you enough to die a horrendous death to save you from sin. He has proven He is enough to satisfy our greatest and most desperate need. So shouldn’t we believe that He is enough for all our lesser needs?

In Him is fullness of joy. (Ps 16:11) All our wants, all our needs, are gratified in Him. He is the living water, that a man may drink thereof and never thirst again.

He is enough for our security, for He knows exactly what will happens to us, and works all things for the good of His children (Rom 8:28). He is enough for our renown, for what could be greater than being known personally by the Creator of all? He is enough for our love, as He is the perfect expression of love, and His love for us is beyond comprehension. He is enough for our fulfilment, for He created us, and knows the exact purpose of our lives.

God is enough for your wants. God is enough for your needs. God is enough for your longings, your desires, your deepest wishes which you want so much yet can’t even put to words. He is enough.

So this blog is an exploration of how God is enough in every part of life. Theologically, of course, but in other ways as well. What does it look like to love God with all my heart, soul and mind? How do I know God intellectually, emotionally, and spiritually? And how do I live in reflection of who He is and who He wants me to be?

I don’t presume to have any answers. I just think better when I write. I can corral my thoughts, make them be orderly and go somewhere on paper. Or screen. Or whatever this is. And it won’t necessarily be deep. I might want to organize my thoughts on the worldview of super-hero movies sometime. Or I might even want to just vent the random thoughts I had, or to keep the memory of a particularly lovely moment.

But this holds me accountable, and ensures that I am living life purposely, paying attention to every show I watch, every speech I hear, every subtle worldview I find. So I’m writing, to help myself to think clearer, to think deeper, and to enjoy the wonder of life.

Maybe I’ll even encourage you all along the way.

 

 

3 thoughts on “When God Isn’t Enough

  1. Isabelle – I am so glad you have started a blog. You will definitely encourage others along the way, but it is also a great way to see memorials of what the Lord has done for you when you look back in years to come. You are a beautiful young lady that has a great ability to express with words and I can’t wait to follow you on here. Keep sharing your posts on FB please!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

