Announcement: Faithfulness Fridays/Loving Mondays

It is a good thing to give thanks unto the LORD, and to sing praises unto Thy name, O most High: to shew forth Thy lovingkindness in the morning, and thy faithfulness every night. Psalm 92:1-2

We need to praise God, to thank Him always.

Period. Full stop.

I honestly don’t have to go on, nor expand this any further. Even the child who knows his catechism can tell you this. What is the chief end of man? To glorify God and to enjoy Him forever. Now of course, this answer has an ocean, an universe of meaning behind it, yet still can be compressed into one simple sentence.

But oftentimes,  it is the simplest commandments which are also the easiest to overlook. We get caught up in the everyday chaos, the everyday drama, the everyday business; and forget.

We forget to see how His love surrounds us. We forget to see His everlasting patience. We forget to see His million gifts, forget to hear His echoes of love, forget to feel the closeness of His presence.

So this is a call to remember. This is a call to wake up.

Count your blessings, name them one by one says the old hymn. And the same applies to remembering the attributes, the greatness of God. When we start to list out the ways He blesses us, the ways He is faithful, the ways He loves us — well, let’s just say it would be as impossible to find all the paper that we need as it would be to finish the list!

But in naming them we remind ourselves. In returning once again to our first love, we are once again set on fire for Him, once again overwhelmed by His love, once again encouraged to keep on fighting, and once again burdened with the urgency and utmost importance of the Gospel.

So I’m disciplining myself to show forth His lovingkindness, to proclaim His faithfulness in the one of the ways I know best how: writing. Of course, I am not such a proficient (nor insane) writer that I think I can whip up an acceptable article every morning and evening. (I wish) So instead, I’m planning on writing Loving Mondays and Faithfulness Fridays. Forgive me as I stumble and fumble my way about this, this is new, I am uncertain and going out on a limb. But His grace is sufficient, and His strength is made perfect in weakness. (2 Cor 12:9)

Because He deserves all the glory. He deserves it from every voice, no matter how strong or how weak or how clear or how pretty or how trembling. So let us praise the name which is above every name, before which every knee shall bow, and which every tongue shall confess. (Phil 2:9-11)

So take time this morning to start your day correctly, and to fill your mind with His love for you. Take a moment to end your evening rightly, and remind yourself of His everlasting faithfulness.

Because He is worthy of all.

 

6 thoughts on “Announcement: Faithfulness Fridays/Loving Mondays

  1. I love this idea! I know I forget His blessings so easily, and I need to be reminded often to give thanks for them. I’ve been trying to keep a thankfulness journal, although that has been sporadic xP Can’t wait to see where this leads!

    Liked by 2 people

Share your thoughts

