Faithfulness Fridays: Safety and Storms

I love storms.

Something about the oncoming waves of thunder rolling towards you, the flashes which light up a world both unfamiliar yet exciting, and the changing cadence of rain pattering or pouring enthralls me. There are few things I enjoy as much as sitting curled up on the couch on a rainy day, watching the leaves bounce as the rain runs off them; or sitting happily smothered beneath my covers, letting the stormy symphony lull me to sleep. I know this love is strange, and perhaps it is because I’ve often lived where rain is a rare blessing. Or perhaps because the Denningston’s reminded me that “Any child loves rain if it’s allowed to go and paddle about in it.”  Or perhaps even it is a slight rush of adrenaline from being near danger, yet not affected by it.

Because that is what I find nice about thunderstorms. If I was standing out in the middle of a field, cold, wet, and miserable, I would most likely not have quite the same fondness for storms. But when I am inside the protection of my house, I am safe.

And life can be much the same way.

Thunderstorms roll into our worlds, bringing events that can make everything dark, unfamiliar, and chaotic.

But when we are in Christ, He is faithful to keep us safe. But the Lord is faithful, who shall stablish you, and keep you from evil. (2 Thess 3:3) Just as a house, He shelters us from the pelting rain and sudden lightning of the world. Like a mother dove protecting her chicks, He hides us under the shadow of His wings. (Ps 36:7) He is faithful in protecting His children.

Now this doesn’t mean we won’t have hard times. This doesn’t mean we’ll always be healthy, wealthy, and wise. This doesn’t mean that hard times won’t come, that you won’t be hurt, or that life won’t throw the worst it has it you. Because it will. Trust me. I know. Life is full of difficult problems with no easy answers; life is full of battles which can leave us wounded.

But He is faithful in ensuring that we ultimately triumph. For we know that all things work together for good to them that love God (Rom 8:28).

Through every crash of thunder and every peal of lightning, God promises that we will not be eternally hurt. He is able to keep to keep you from falling, and to present you faultless before the presence of His glory with exceeding joy. (Jude 1:24) He gives us His power and His Spirit, so that we can overcome the trials of this world. God is faithful, Who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able, but will with that temptation also make a way of escape, that ye may be able to bear it. (1 Cor 10:13)

So we don’t need to be frightened by the thunderstorms of the world. Our Father in heaven, Who loves to give His children good gifts, is on our side. If God be for us, who can be against us? (Rom 8:31) When troubles come, we know that He is in control, He already had this planned, and He already knows that we shall overcome by the blood of the Lamb. (Rev 12:11)

He is faithful in protecting His children.

6 thoughts on “Faithfulness Fridays: Safety and Storms

    • Yes, I’ve decided that sitting outside in lightning is probably not the best idea… 🙂 Quick question: do you have a contact form on your blog? I’d love to get to know all you lovely sisters in Christ better, but I assume comments open to all the world most likely isn’t the best place to do so.

      Liked by 1 person

      • As of right now, I don’t have any contact forms for my blog, but I’ll let you know if that changes. I’d love you get to know you better too, and I’ll be thinking about how people can contact me. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

