Loving Mondays: Unworthy Royalty

loving-mondays_unworthy-royalty

 

I always wanted to be a princess.

I’m sure every little girl does. Long gowns and longer balls, that always sounded lovely to me. Palaces, ponies, but best of all, the prince. That wonderful being who would see me in the midst of my mundane life, woo me for his own, and carry me off to be cherished forever. Didn’t sound too bad to 10-year old (ok, who are we kidding, 14-year old) me.

Of course, I had read enough books to know the normal way for me to be a princess. I have to wed a prince! (Obviously.) I was all for that, but on the downside, my parents informed me that there were only about two princes I could even consider, as the majority in this modern age were not at all Christian. William is taken (*grins over how sweet they are together*) and Harry — well, I don’t believe either of us would meet each others’ standards. And thus the realities of modern life destroyed that avenue of royalty.

Of course, I’ve always explored all old wardrobes — or, closets actually — to see if I could become royalty in a much more delightful land, but sadly all cupboards, closets, and even gates in walls led only to their normal ends. And then after The Last Battle…. And so yet another chance at princess-hood, dashed.

But then, not realized at the time, I truly did become a queen. When I became a child of God.

And, honestly, I’ve never quite liked the “God’s little princess” theme. I mean, Yes, I understand, He’s the King, so by being His children we are by definition royalty. But that didn’t seem quite right to me. It felt — audacious. Forward. Cocky. And, frankly, just a ploy to boost girls’ self-esteem, and sell more pink items. I thought it was more appropriate to focus on being His servants, sinners saved by grace. Which is true. But that doesn’t make the former any less true.

Because one day I was struck in the face by Romans 8:16-17.

The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God: and if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ; if so be that we suffer with Him, that we may be also glorified together.

Heirs of God, joint-heirs with Christ. It just sets me on edge. If it wasn’t God saying it, I wouldn’t believe it, wouldn’t accept it. Because follow the logical implication. What is Christ the heir of? All things. (Heb 1:2) What is Christ over? All principality, and power, and might, and dominion, and every name that is named, not only in this world, but also in that which is to come. (Eph 1:22) And yet He just said we are co-heirs of the same thing.

This is strange– absurd — crazy! I can’t be reading this right!

But as I kept studying, I kept finding the same thing.

… For all things are yours; whether Paul, or Apollos, or Cephas, or the world, or life, or death, or things present, or things to come; all are yours, and ye are Christ’s; and Christ is God’s (1 Cor 3:21-23)

To him that overcometh will I grant to sit with me in my throne, even as I also overcame, and am set down with my Father in His throne. (Rev 3:21)

He that overcometh shall inherit all things, and I will be his God, and he shall be My son. (Rev 21:7)

He has promised us a kingdom (Luke 22:9), dominion, and rule over angels! (1 Cor 6:3) And yet something inside of me rebels  against this. I’m not worthy. I’m not righteous. I’m not even able! And yet, that is the beautiful thing.

Because the Prince saw me in the middle of all my ugliness, in my dirty rags sitting in the dusty street, and loved me. Not, like in the fairy-tales, for any beauty in myself. But because of the beauty in Him, the beauty He could create in me. Jesus took wretched me, and made me royalty.

And, oh, I have such a hard time accepting this. I’m much more comfortable discussing how I serve God, or keep His commandments. And there is certainly a time and place for that. But to just be overwhelmed by His love–  Do you see, do you understand how marvelous, how insane, how stunning this love is? You, O Christian, are going to rule. You are kings and queens. The new heavens and the earth, already so overwhelming in themselves? You’re going to be in charge of them. I don’t understand, I can’t comprehend.

And I’m a bit tentative. I don’t want to take this idea too far. I know that Christ will be head over all, and I believe that if all I ever focused on was being His servant, I would still delight Him. But this taste, this glimpse of His overwhelming love — it’s too heady, too much for me. And that’s a good thing. I need to be engulfed by the wonder of God.

So take this idea as you will. I’m no skilled theologian, and I am certainly not the Word of God. So go be Bereans; make your own bruschetta; study the word for yourself.

Realize that you are kings and queens. And not over some square-miles of land, or even over a fantasy realm, but over the kingdom of God. But never forget that Jesus Christ is the High King. And to Him is due all our loyalty, all our love, and all our thanks. And He has loved you enough to make you royalty. How great, how wonderful, this inundating love is!

But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of Him who hath called you out of darkness into His marvelous light (1 Peter 2:9)

But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love Him. ( 1 Cor 2:9)

 

 

 

Thank you all so much for reading, but I am sadly having to wind down Loving Mondays/ Faithfulness Fridays. Unfortunately, with job, classes, and Bible Bee, my schedule simply cannot bear the load of two mandatory posts a week, plus my weekly random musings. It has been absolutely wonderful seeing how God has grown me through these, and has helped me to see more clearly new things about Himself. There may still be a few more straggling out, as well as my normal posts continuing as usual. I hope you all have enjoyed this series! 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Loving Mondays: Unworthy Royalty

  1. I just came across your blog a little while ago and wanted to let you know that I love your posts! Thank-you so much for this one!

    Like

Share your thoughts

