The Thunder of God’s Presence

The Thunder of God's Presence

I love storms. Hearing the rushing, rolling majesty flooding through; staring wide-eyed at the bright paths from the clouds flashing in and out of existence in a moment’s time; soaking in the jostling booms multiplying against the hills — I revel in it.

I mentioned this strange delight of mine at a friend’s house recently, and their dad suggested that perhaps it wasn’t that unusual. He pointed out that often the Bible uses thunder as an allegory for God’s voice, and we moved on to discussing the instances at Sinai and other places.

But that one thought stuck with me. Biblical allegories should be the best ones there are, for the Great Author of all has made both things being compared. So it can be enlightening to dig deeper into them, discovering the facets of Himself the Creator reveals in His creation.

Because thunder, scientifically speaking, is the noise created when air molecules rush in to fill the space emptied by the searing heat of lightning. The roaring crash is the sound of a vacuum being righted. Emptiness being filled.

And perhaps that’s why the Scripture so often tells us it thunders when God’s presence appears. Because reality is so much less than Him.

Time being occupied by the Timeless. Space holding the Omnipresent. The emptiness of Reality being filled with Him who is more Real than all. Is it any wonder the skies roared beneath the weight of such glory?

When we forget the utter bigness and other-ness of God, we lose the wonderful awe-fullness of God’s presence on Sinai. What do you think we lose when we forget about it in the Incarnation, in His very dwelling in us?

For His presence resounds in us as well. We were empty. Sin had rotted us out, a vacuum of darkness and loss. But the Saviour came rushing in, filling with light and righteousness.

Shouldn’t our lives thunder His glory as well?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Quick note: I hoped you enjoyed this short musing on God’s presence! Because of my crazy schedule while staffing at Summit ministries starting next week (which you can read some of my thoughts on here), these shorter posts may be more common as I’m struck by a certain aspect of God, the Gospel, or just Christian living in the midst of ministry. (Or I may be able to write normal length posts during my free time. I honestly have no idea) I hope you’ll join me as we live every moment, even the little ones, faithfully!

27 thoughts on “The Thunder of God’s Presence

  1. Pingback: The Thunder of God’s Presence | Belle Ingalls – DELIGHTING IN HIM

  2. I too love storms and for this very reason! I can’t tell you how many conversations I’ve had about thunder being a voice of God and how it means something far deeper than just “a storm” to me. Thanks for sharing this, it was a confirmation 🙂 Be blessed!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow. Thank you for writing this. It’s so true and it actually brings tears to my eyes to think of God’s unfathomable greatness and love coming to us like that. Keep it up – you have an incredible amount of insight.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow! I’ve always loved thunder, despite the strangeness if that statement 😉 But it’s really cool to think about it that way! Thanks for sharing! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This post was so refreshing and enriching! I will never think of thunder the same again. ❤ What a beautiful allegory. I especially love this part…

    "Time being occupied by the Timeless. Space holding the Omnipresent. The emptiness of Reality being filled with Him who is more Real than all. Is it any wonder the skies roared beneath the weight of such glory?"

    Thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So much of this – I think – is gold.

    “Biblical allegories should be the best ones there are, for the Great Author of all has made both things being compared.”

    Also, can I just say, I love that you have spiritual discussions including your friends’ parents. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great post, Belle! That’s a great analogy. I haven’t ever thought of it that way before and I love how you worded it! Thanks for writing and sharing here!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love storms and thunder, too! Everything about them (except being drenched when you don’t have a coat and actually trying to get somewhere, heh)! I like to sit on the porch and listen in awe.

    Your second-to-last paragraph painted a beautiful picture. Thank you for this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love this, Isabelle! I’ve always hough it would be SO amazing to hear God’s voice. 🙂
    It’s so awesome that the God of the entire universe cares about each and every one of us…on a personal level! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Amen, beautiful post… It’s interesting as we get older in this fast paced society that unless we slow down we can grow blind to the revelations that God wants to show us by the things He so intricately and beautifully created around us. Keep listening to His voice my Sister in Christ! God has wonderful and amazing things planned for your life!

    Grace and Peace through Christ our Lord!
    Jonathan

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is so very true! I love the Chesterton quote “We suffer not from lack of wonders, but from lack of wonder.”
      Thank you for your encouragement and kind words!

      Like

Share your thoughts

